Crusaders to Make At Least Eight ESPN Appearances During HL Play
Bryce Drew and the Crusaders will be featured on ESPN platforms at least eight times during the 2013 Horizon League slate. (William Liu)
Crusaders to Make At Least Eight ESPN Appearances During HL Play
Thursday, September 20, 2012

The Valparaiso men’s basketball team will make at least eight appearances across ESPN platforms during the 2013 Horizon League schedule and could be featured up to nine times, as the league announced its full schedule of games on the Worldwide Leader’s networks Thursday.

The Crusaders’ slate of ESPN games begins when they host Cleveland State on Friday, Jan. 4 at 6 p.m., live on ESPNU. Eight days later, Valpo will play at Milwaukee on Saturday, Jan. 12 at 1 p.m. in the HLN Game of the Week, which will also be broadcast live on ESPN3. Valpo will again be featured on ESPNU as the Crusaders travel to play Detroit on Thursday, Jan. 17 at 6 p.m. Next up are a pair of ESPN3 exclusive games, as the Crusaders host Green Bay on Wednesday, Jan. 23 at 7:05 p.m. and play at Youngstown State on Wednesday, Jan. 30 at 6:05 p.m. CST.

Valpo is in the running for a pair of wild-card games over a nine-day stretch to start the month of February. The Crusaders’ home game against Milwaukee on Friday, Feb. 1 is one of two possibilities for an 8 p.m. broadcast on ESPNU, while their game at Cleveland State on Saturday, Feb. 9 is one of two choices for a 3 p.m. slot on ESPN2. If the CSU game is not chosen for ESPN2, it will be the HLN Game of the Week and broadcast live on ESPN3 as well. Previously announced as an ESPN2 broadcast was Valpo's home game against Detroit on Saturday, Feb. 16, which will tip off at 5 p.m. Finally, the Crusaders wrap up the regular season at Green Bay on Saturday, Mar. 2 at 2 p.m. live on ESPNU.

In addition to the multitude of ESPN games during Horizon League action, the Crusaders will make at least two appearances during non-league play as well. Valpo is part of the ESPN College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon, hosting Northern Illinois on Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 7 a.m. on ESPN, while its game at Murray State on Saturday, Dec. 29 at 2 p.m. will be broadcast live on ESPN3.