Valpo Quiets Quinnipiac
Coach Jim Daugherty saw his team dispatch the Bobcats 4-3 Sunday evening in Orlando.
Valpo Quiets Quinnipiac
Monday, March 11, 2013

The Crusaders (7-5) won their third straight Monday evening over Quinnipiac (3-6) in a back-and-forth neutral-site match played in Orlando, Florida.

Valpo claimed the doubles point before engaging in down-to-the-wire singles matches throughout the docket.  Chris Baum and Danny Oakes won their doubles match at No. 2 with little sweat 8-2.  The freshman combo of Michael Baiocchi and Michael Savaglio prevailed 8-5 at No. 3 doubles to clinch the point.  For good measure, the No. 1 duo of Eric Honert and Lucas Waak finished off the team of Fahoum Fahoum and Luke Roser 8-7 (7-5).

Quinnipiac junior Corey Morgenstern won in straight sets at No. 6 over freshman Brian Hickey 6-3. 6-3.  Savaglio overcame a match point in his tilt before taking the singles point at No. 3 with a 3-6, 7-6 (8-6), 6-4 marathon victory.

The other singles matches went three sets each.  At No. 1 singles, Honert outlasted Sebastian Barbero 6-1. 1-6. 6-3. Fahoum dropped the first set to Baum at No. 2 but rallied back for a 2-6, 6-4, 6-4 win.  Waak dropped a point to senior Garrett Lane 3-6, 7-5, 6-3 to bring the match to 3-3.

Baiocchi came through with a match-clinching straight set triumph 6-3, 6-4 versus Roser at No. 4.  

With the 4-3 team win, Valpo has the chance Tuesday to tie - and pass - last season's win total of eight.  NAIA-member Marian University of Indiana (13-4) will challenge the Crusaders at 9:00 am Eastern/8:00 am Central.  The Brown and Gold will then get a breather before battling Wesleyan University of Connecticut later in the day at 5:30 pm Eastern/4:30 pm Central.  The evening will match will be the first of the spring for the D-III Cardinals.